Yerevan International Music Festival

Founded in 2007 Yerevan International Music Festival (Arm alliteration: Yerevanyan midjazgayin erazhshtakan paraton) is an annual showcase for outstanding international soloists who come to perform with the Armenian Philharmonic Orchestra, appear with recitals and give master-classes. The festival is held with the support of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Armenia. It is traditionally held in autumn time, starting in September and finishing in the middle of October. During this time Armenia’s Independence Day is celebrated on September 21 and the Day of Yerevan, on the first Sunday of October.

The festival offers not only symphonic concerts but also master-classes, and chamber music with coaching. Internationally renowned musicians perform at the festival and share their experience with Armenian students. Also the festival holds non-musical events, such as photo exhibitions. In previous years musicians of highest artistic quality including Isabelle Faust, Julia Fischer, Boris Belkin, Vadim Repin, Sergey Krylov, Daishin Kashimoto, Yevgeny Sudbin, Boris Berezovsky, Barry Douglas, Kirill Gerstein, Konstantin Lifshits, Wenzel Fuchs, Alessandro Carbonare, Emmanuel Pahud, Paul Meyer, Natalia Gutman, Mario Brunello, Steven Isserlis, Kim Kashkashian, Diemut Poppen, Christopher Warren-Green, Vassily Sinaisky, Kirill Karabits appeared at the festival.

Festival’s traditional venue is Aram Khachaturian Hall – home to the Armenian Philharmonic Orchestra.

Artistic Directors of the festival are Eduard Topchjan and Alexander Chaushian.